Facts about Croatia

The Republic of Croatia (Republika Hrvatska) occupies an area measuring 56,542 km², being located along the eastern coast of the Adriatic Sea. It possesses 31,067 km² of territorial sea, with 5,853 km long coastline. There are 1246 islands, cliffs and reefs, 47 of the island being inhabited.

In northern Croatia the climate is continental and alpine, along the coast it is Mediterranean, with mild, rainy winters and warm, dry and lengthy sunny summers. The Republic of Croatia was established on 22 December 1990, being one of Europe’s youngest countries. According to the data of the latest Census, it has nearly 4 million and 500 thousand inhabitants. The country capital is Zagreb with population of about 800,000. Split is the second most populated city, then Rijeka, Osijek, Zadar, Pula, etc.

The monetary unit is Kuna with Lipa being 1/100 of Kuna.

The language is Croatian, the script Latin. The main religion is Roman Catholic (over 85%).

Croatia has eight National Parks, four of them are inland (Paklenica, Plitvice Lakes, Risnjak and Northern Velebit) and the other four are along the coast (Brijuni islands, Kornati islands, Krka river and Mljet island). The Plitvice Lakes are on the World Heritage List, protected by UNESCO. Dubrovnik, Trogir, Diocletian’s Palace in Split, Cathedral in Šibenik, etc. are on the World Heritage List too.

Croatia, with its beauties of nature, crystal-clear sea, a preserved environment, culture and tradition, is attracting a great number of tourists.

Home Page